Have food, Will travel

Remember that commercial for dunkin donuts when the man gets up every morning day after day and says “Time to make the donuts”? That is sometimes how I feel packing my lunch. Or my dinner. Or my snacks. It seems I’m always packing food of some sort to carry with me wherever I go. I like to eat. And I eat often and I eat clean so there’s no stopping in a convenience store for a hotdog or running through a drive-thru for me. And I don’t like to be hungry, it makes me very grumpy. It’s not good for your body to starve, it will literally shut down your metabolism in order to store calories. So in my car I carry almonds or fruit. In my purse you can usually find more almonds or a tightly wrapped Sticky Ball or sometimes a small banana.

Lunch is a tuna or turkey sandwich or a variety of veggies with protein. Usually cottage cheese and egg whites. Now for your visual pleasure……..

Seeds and avocado for healthy fats, protein and carbs

leftover salmon with lentils and quinoa

Colorful cherry tomatoes with cottage cheese for protein

more avocado, grilled chicken, spinach and strawberries

If I’m working a full day I will also pack a 2nd breakfast of oatmeal or a peanut butter wrap. Afternoon snack is greek yogurt or nuts. (I didn’t realize how much I ate baby carrots!)

So it takes some planning and preparation and sometimes can be a pain in the *** but it is so much better than being starving and wanting to chew off your own arm. Or waiting hours between meals and letting your blood sugar plummet.  Or worse yet- eating some highly processed, chemical filled “convenience” snack from a vending machine.

What do you carry with you to eat? More than gum I hope….

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brittanilynn28
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 22:54:59

    i have a baggie of almonds in my purse AND in my yoga bag! haha it’s my saving grace for sure.

    Reply

  2. ctminnesota
    Oct 10, 2012 @ 11:23:51

    I carry EVERYTHING with me! Ha! I call myself a bag lady, because each morning I walk into my office with a grocery bag full of my prepped foods. For those days when I either don’t have anything healthy at home (sometimes a mama just needs to get to the store) or not enough gumption to pull it together (hey, it happens), I keep a stash of oatmeal, raw/unsalted nuts, freeze-dried fruit, and low sodium soup on hand. Generally, I can subsist on that plus the office supply of lowfat string cheese for a day 🙂 Eating that for a day will make anyone want to pack up their meals!!!

    Reply

  3. myrealfoodfamily
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 21:33:36

    I’ve always got almonds with me at work to avoid the vending machine. I always make extra dinner so I’ve got leftovers for lunch the next day. Pre-planning meals and snacks is the way to go!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

