Apple Cinnamon Green Smoothie

I am learning to love green smoothies. Not just because of the nutritional benefits like getting amazing phytonutrients, fiber and anti-oxidants in a one drink,  it’s more that I love the fresh taste of them. Greens are full of “life” and that has a certain flavor that can’t be found in other fruits or vegetables.

I learned this recipe last night at a nutrition workshop. It’s seasonal and uses Honey Crisp apples but you could use any apple variety you enjoy.

Pour almond/soy/coconut milk of your choice into blender with a fresh spinach leaves. I used kale but if you’re  new to green smoothies you may want to start with baby spinach as it is more tender and blends easier. Both kale and spinach are high nutrient dense foods so either choice is good. Blend on high. Add in: 1 banana, 1 apple cut in pieces, dash of cinnamon and dash of vanilla extract. Blend well. Add crushed ice. If you like things extra sweet you can add in apple juice or a bit of honey. If you have one of those fancy blenders then just put all ingredients in at once. I don’t have one of those….yet..so it’s best to add separately.

I added a scoop of protein powder but it actually made it too thick and heavy so I will skip that step next time.

I  feel so good and almost buzzed after drinking green smoothies! I think it’s all the nutrients and vitamins getting immediately into my bloodstream without having to go through the entire digestive process of breaking down the food.  They are great for mornings, afternoon snacks or after working out or yoga…..

What are your favorite green smoothie add-ins?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. healthygirlandthecity
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 13:58:25

    by fancy blender, did you mean, vitamix? 😉 i love the apple idea – don’t know why i haven’t tried throwing some into my green smoothies sooner!

    Reply

  2. ayoungfoodie
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 14:00:08

    This looks so yummy. Thanks for sharing! I’ve got another to do now on my list. A thumbs up from a fellow foodie! ~ ayoungfoodie.wordpress.com

    Reply

  3. A Table in the Sun
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 18:42:20

    I love my green smoothies too. I just made one with leftover roasted sweet potato, romaine, almond milk, vanilla, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and a bit of frozen banana. Pumpkin pie in a cup.

    Reply

  4. silverbells2012
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 15:35:05

    Great – you’ve just given me a new way to use the spinach from my garden! I’ve not had a savoury smoothie before (i.e. with vegetables) but now I can also think of a way to use kale, which my local organic farm is eager for me to buy (as they have got mountains of it but people tend to shy away from it!).

    Reply

  5. ctminnesota
    Oct 10, 2012 @ 11:25:05

    I can’t wait to try this…it sounds wonderful plus I love the vibrant green color.

    Reply

    • createwholehealth
      Oct 10, 2012 @ 12:33:56

      I love the color too. In the class they advised people to put it in a mug so they couldn’t see the green color. Apparently most people freak out at the thought of drinking green……

      Reply

Leave a Reply

