Slow Mexican Chicken with Kale

Trying to get my 20 grams of protein at each meal is challenging to keep up with in the kitchen. The fall weather means it’s slow cooker weather (Yay) so I plan on using that a lot for protein sources. Today I experimented big-time and took a risk on 2 of my favorite healthy foods: Chicken and Kale. Lesson: Don’t be afraid to experiment with your own recipes…..

I put some onion and garlic cloves into some grape-seed oil in my slow cooker. Grape-seed oil is a good one to use for heated cooking. Plus it has a neutral flavor so it doesn’t add anything.

Didn’t feel like chopping garlic. Instead I smash when it’s soft and cooked.

I added two bone-in chicken breasts with the skin on. I placed them meaty side down to allow the juices to flow to the fleshiest part

Snugly tucked and upside down to soak up flavor

Here comes the experimental part. I found a half a jar of salsa in the fridge and to that I added: Fig balsamic vinegar, chili powder, cumin, red pepper flakes, salt, a bit of honey and water. Oh and just the slightest smidge cinnamon as an afterthought.

I go through cumin pretty fast. It’s a magic spice!

I poured the whole mixture over the chicken breasts and let cook slowly on high for 3 hours.

Could’ve stopped right here but I was feeling creative

When the meat was done I pulled it off the bone, discarded the skin and placed the chicken back in the sauce.  I then added some fresh thyme, rosemary and oregano from the backyard.

I scared away a cute bunny hiding under the rosemary bush.

All of that would’ve been good enough but I temporarily lost my mind and decided to add in fresh chopped kale…..Not sure what I was thinking but I wanted my greens with my protein.

Not sure where this idea came from…..

This could’ve gone either way but it turned out AMAZINGLY delicious over brown rice. Perfect combination of flavorings and texture.

Success!!!!

Don’t be afraid to experiment with spices and foods you love. Chances are you will create something you love!

Leave a Reply

