Almond Joy

I am a big fan of protein and I work diligently at incorporating it into my diet throughout the day. Because I am interested in building muscle, I aim for 20 grams at each meal. That’s not always possible so I focus on high protein snacks throughout the day.  Nuts are a great source of protein and healthy fats.  I prefer almonds as they are less greasy than other nuts.  They are convenient and easy to carry so there is no “hunger binging” after hours without eating. I keep a bag in my car or purse whenever I am going on an extensive errand running trip.  I never buy roasted almonds from the store- they are loaded with sodium, flavoring or sugars. It is much easier and more cost effective to prepare them yourself.  I buy raw almonds in bulk and then roast small batches as needed. Almonds are actually a seed of the almond tree, not a nut, and are in the same family as peaches. Ever notice how a peach pit resembles an almond?

Nuts can be hard to digest and some people experience abdominal discomfort after eating almonds. One thing to try is to soak the raw nuts overnight. This softens them, making it easier on the intestines and also removes the harmful tannic acid from the orange skin which can cause digestive problems. Once I started this process I never experienced any issues again. I also am mindful to chew them really well to ensure no sharp, jagged pieces will be in my digestive tract (ouch).

To soak almonds, place in large container and cover completely with water. Allow to sit 8-10 hours.

Drain the orange water and rinse again.

Spread on foil lined cookie sheet. This is when some people may add salt. I don’t think it’s necessary as the natural flavors really come out when roasted slowly.  No need for extra sodium in a healthy snack. I admit I once drizzled honey over some them before roasting and that was pretty good.

Place in 350 degree oven for approximately 45 minutes. Check often, these can burn easily which totally ruins the taste.

Serve in fancy 1950’s glass dish!

Read more digestible info on Almonds here

Leave a Reply

