Incredibly Lazy Roasted Brussel Sprouts

I love brussel sprouts. I love them like some people love M&M’s. I like to pop them in my mouth whole when they are little and bite-sized. I like to look at them and admire the intricacy of their layered leaves tucked around them so tightly like folded wings. I love the sweet and sour cabbage taste and the smoky flavor when roasted.  I love them despite the looks of shock, disgust and disdain when I say I love brussel sprouts. But I’m lazy about preparing them.

I cook my baby brussels whole. I don’t chop off the stems and peel the outer leaves or criss-cross the bottom. That’s alot of detail work that I don’t care to do. I don’t mind eating the soft little stem but if you are so inclined,  please feel free to chop away at the 2nd cutest vegetable next to Okra.  I think cooking (especially “Healthy” cooking) has been made so complicated and intimidating that for some people it’s easier to just pop a frozen pizza in the oven. But wait! I am here to advocate for lazy healthy cooking! Food is meant to be eaten and enjoyed- not prepared to death.

Rinse brussel sprouts and spread on foil lined baking sheet.

Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with dricd garlic

Bake at 390 for approximately 20 minutes. Turn off oven and let them roast. Check often.

Remove when edges brown. Squeeze 1/4 fresh lemon on top.

See, that wasn’t hard was it? Healthy cooking can be simple.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Little Sis
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 21:03:36

    Simple, healthful, delicious. I wholeheartedly agree, healthy cooking can be, and is usually best, when it is simple. Thanks for sharing this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

