The Simple Rules of Juicing

1. Don’t be afraid to try something new

2. Keep it SIMPLE, don’t over-think the process

3. It’s OK if you mess up, you can try again!

4. If you have a blender and veggies, you can do this

I admit I am somewhat intimidated by “juicing” and “juicers” and “juice diets”….Not the juice itself but the whole process of juicing. The juicers are so advanced and completely out of my budget. The list of ingredients can be confusing when you hear about grasses, herbs, liquids, add-ins, etc.  There is SO much information out there about juicing and health that it can be overwhelming. I was talking to a classmate about this and she said she uses her kitchen blender and simple greens, carrots and other readily available fruits and vegetables. It sounded so easy and accessible. She suggested coconut water as the liquid and I already LOVE coconut water so I thought I’d try it today before yoga.

I have an older Waring blender that has made more smoothies than I can remember and soups of all kinds over many winters. I wasn’t sure how it would handle raw veggies. I used baby carrots, sliced apples (the tart jonathon ones), fresh baby spinach, coconut water and a squeeze of fresh lime.

I piled it all in and put in some plain water for extra liquid. I crossed my fingers and turned it on high. It swirled around and everything blended together perfectly! It was a success!!!! And incredibly delicious! It of course was not as liquified as a professional juicer would have made it but I kind of liked the texture of it, it had substance. The lime gave it a good citrus twist.

Next time I will add some fresh ginger, parsley and maybe different types of apples. It doesn’t have to be that complicated. Healthy eating can be as simple as using the tools already in your kitchen and the willingness to try something new…..

What do you like to juice? I’d love some suggestions….

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. foodallyoucan
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 09:22:49

    Reblogged this on lifeculturexpress and commented:
    So refreshing, so much a nice idea. While most people are engrossed with unhealthy food, juices have been completely forgotten. Announcing the renaissance of the JUICE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

