Granola Girl Granola

I don’t know what that term really means but sometimes people refer to healthy eaters as “granola”. I am happy to be associated with this delicious cereal!!! It’s more like crack than cereal though as I cannot keep my hands off it when it’s around the house.

This recipe was given to me by a fellow hiker and I’ve adapted it a bit which you can do too to suit your taste. That’s what’s great about granola, it can be made to your liking- nuts, no nuts, raisins, coconut, dried fruit, etc. I like mine pretty plain and simple. Like most all of my food!

Combine 3 cups whole oats, 1 cup raw almonds, 1/2 cup walnuts, sprinkle of cinnamon, nutmeg and sea salt. Use more or less nuts as you please. You can also add unsweetened coconut. Warning:  If you want to add raisins wait until after it’s baked otherwise they burn into bloated little crisps of nothing.

Combine coconut oil,  olive oil, dark honey and pure maple syrup to equal 3/4 cup liquid. Again, you can vary the ratio of oil/sweeteners depending how sweet/crisp you like your granola. The more oil/honey- the crisper and sweeter the cereal will be. This amount seems to be plenty for my taste.

Stir well and spread  evenly on foil lined cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes.

It needs to be checked often as oven temperatures vary and this can take a wrong turn quickly into being overdone. It should be a nice golden color when you remove it from the oven.

It will crisp up as it cools.  Have I mentioned I CANNOT QUIT EATING THIS! Seriously, on yogurt, by itself, with almond milk, by itself…..it’s sort of dangerous to have around the house. But it’s a good clean sweet treat that has pure ingredients. Plus your house smells amazing when you make it.

Let me know what things you like to add to granola to make it your own!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PJ Girl
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 12:13:57

    I’ve never actually made my own granola but you’ve inspired me to give it a go! I love it sprinkled on fresh natural yoghurt or as a snack so I must give it a go!

    Reply

  2. sybaritica
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 06:10:14

    That does look good!!

    Reply

  3. balancedpeanut
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 17:16:19

    Love this blog! Share your favorite dessert recipe and I just MAY make it! Here’s how:
    http://balancedpeanut.com/2012/09/26/have-an-awesome-dessert-submit-your-recipe/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

