Kale & Beet Salad

Whoa- the farmer’s market is spectacular this time of year!!  The end of summer produce and the  very beginnings of winter squash and apples. I went a little crazy with my selection.

I roasted my first butternut squash of the season yesterday. I don’t peel or de-seed until after it’s been baked and cooled. It’s much easier than when raw. This needs no butter or condiment- it’s perfectly sweet the way it is.

It’s hard to find 2 other vegetables that are as nutrient packed as kale and beets.  Especially when the kale is eaten raw as in this salad. Even though I already had this amazing array of vegetables from the farmer’s market my friends gifted me with some fresh kale and roasted beets. We made an argula/tomato/beet salad with feta cheese last night for dinner and today for lunch I tore up some kale and added ginger dressing to it.

The tomatoes and beets had marinated nicely in the oil vingarette over night so they really flavored the kale nicely. As always, I will freeze the rest of the kale for smoothies.

What is your favorite fall produce?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. silverbells2012
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 15:59:32

    I never thought about eating kale raw! Tomatoes and beetroot have to be my favourite vegetables at the moment 🙂

    Reply

  2. mygreenlove
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 12:52:04

    the photos are beautiful….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

