Are you mad at your pain? Be nice to it!

I have had a nagging hamstring issue going on since June. I know it happened on a Memorial weekend group hike

Beautiful yet a bit challenging with all the rocks. Injuries and pain can teach us a lot about ourselves and our relationship with our body. When our bodies don’t perform or feel how we want them to, how do we respond?  With anger or with compassion?

All summer I’ve been pretty p***ed off at my pain. Everytime I can’t get into a full yoga pose,  I silently cuss out my lower back. That hasn’t helped. I know this minor, yet annoying, injury just needs time and rest which I’m not great at if you know anything about me. My agitation and frustration is not helping it to heal either. So last night I tried something different. I got sick of being mad about it and I decided to send it some love. I took a long hot bath and MADE myself soak for as long as I could. Then instead of plopping down to watch tv, I laid on my couch very still and listened to some relaxing music. I sent good thoughts of healing  and appreciation to the area that has been hurting.  I used some positive affirmations:

“I am strong and flexible”

“My body is healing rapidly”

“I am whole and completely healed”

“I have everything I need within my body to heal itself”  and so on.

And do you know what? It actually felt better today! It didn’t feel as “stuck” or blocked. It felt like the pain was making it’s way around and out of my body.

I love Louise Hay and especially her book “You Can Heal your Life” If you want to learn more about positive affirmations and how our minds can affect illness and disease this book is a MUST.

I highly recommend this book!!!

In it, she offers several affirmations for different ailments for you to try out. She teaches how to develop a loving relationship with your body rather than considering yourself 2 separate entities, therefore everything is connected as one. And how we think about our bodies play a big role in how our bodies respond to us.

How do you treat yourself when you’re hurting? 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. A Table in the Sun
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 08:42:18

    I am SO with you. My goal this week is to focus on all of the wonderful things in my life and stop obsessing over aches, pains, and fatigue.

    Reply

  2. Heather Allaman
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 09:05:29

    LOVE Louise Hay!!! I just finished this book and it truly has changed the way I think

    Reply

  3. pattyUSN@comcast.net
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 10:53:33

    WHAT A REMARKABLE PAGE  –  I DEFINITELY WILL BE TRYING THIS WAY – BEGINNING NOW ! ! !

    patknapp

    Reply

Leave a Reply

