Tiger Fried Rice

No, this does not contain tiger, don’t freak out. The name is a tribute to a menu item at a vegetarian restaurant where I worked many years ago. It has now since closed but “Tiger Food” was a tofu/veggie scramble that was very popular. My Tiger Fried Rice is not vegetarian but it’s the perfect post work-out meal to refuel my body. With lots of protein for my muscles to begin to repair and rebuild, it makes me feel powerful, hence the name.

Chicken, eggs, spinach, tomato and brown rice all mixed together with the secret ingredient: Thai Basil. Thai basil is smaller and stronger flavored than regular basil. The heavy anise bite gives it a mysterious, intoxicating asian flavor.  My thai basil is slowing down for the season so I wanted to take advantage of it before it’s gone.

Fry chicken, garlic, onions in skillet, I used grape seed oil which is better for high heat cooking than olive oil.  Add in heaps of fresh baby spinach and chopped tomato. Stir until spinach wilts.  Add cooked brown rice* and 1 or 2 raw eggs depending on amount. Stir on high heat until egg is completely cooked.

*I like to use only short grain brown rice as it is chewier and denser in texture and holds up in a stir fry.  Other rice tends to get soggy and lost.  After many experiments- this  is my favorite brand.

Toss in basil near end. Sprinkle with red pepper flakes for extra spice.  This is great left over so make extra for the next day.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. silverbells2012
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 15:17:01

    I tend to fry the egg separately as I’ve found this helps me achieve what you have produced here, so I am impressed. Very much the kind of meal I enjoy both cooking and eating 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

