Snack is not a 4 letter word

I think sometimes snacks get a bad rap. “Don’t snack before dinner” “Too much snacking will make you gain weight” Even the “Snack” aisle at the grocery store is full of heavily processed, high sodium, sugary, brightly packaged items as if to “tempt” us to snack. For me snacking has become a way of eating. I still eat breakfast, lunch and dinner but now I break up the 3 big meals into 5 or 6 smaller ones and eat in between them as well. Contrary to some outdated advice to not eat between meals, in reality the opposite is true. By eating 5 or 6 smaller meals throughout the day we keep our metabolism up and our blood sugar level even. There is less chance of bingeing or overeating because we’re starving after having not eaten for 4 or 5 hours.

I believe everyone can and should snack and snack often! Mindful snacking means being prepared with healthy options, not running to the vending machine. It takes a little bit of planning and some packing. I start my day with dividing my breakfast oatmeal in half. Half of it goes to the office with me to snack on mid-morning. Before lunch I may have some nuts. I like to roast raw almonds myself, they always taste fresher.Afternoons I will have yogurt or a sticky ball or leftover lunch

 

 

Another good option are baby carrots (which as I mentioned before aren’t really babies after all….still mystified at that marketing angle) They are super convenient and really satisfying. Especially with hummus

Dogs love healthy snacks too! 

 

 

Other favorite snacks: cottage cheese, greek yogurt, homemade granola, pita bread with hummus, rice cakes with peanut butter, sticky balls, half a banana, apple slices, egg whites, oatmeal with cinnamon, protein smoothies.

 

 

Use your imagination, divide your meals and snack away. You will be more focused, have more energy and feel balanced throughout the day. Our bodies need fuel more than every 5 hours.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. silverbells2012
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 17:01:48

    At one of my antenatal classes, the teacher asked us to list all the food and drink we’d had the day before (it was to illustrate why our babies would want to be fed more than once every four hours!). Basically, I concur with you that it is normal to graze rather than stuff ourselves three times a day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

