Eggcited

These were a gift today. 2 dozen farm fresh eggs from a friend with 20 chickens.

Image

I’ve been saving egg cartons for her and was finally able to deliver them and in exchange I got 2 dozen fresh eggs. They were so fresh they still were carrying remnants of the henhouse on them. I am already dreaming of the ways I will enjoy them….hardboiled as snacks, scrambled with vegetables, frittata, souffle, in tuna salad….Eggs are a great source of protein and farm fresh eggs carry a much higher percentage of Omega 3 than the store bought eggs. I would soooo have backyard chickens if it wasn’t for this

Image

Terror.

So for now I rely on my friend to feed my love of farm fresh eggs. The yolks are a beautiful dark orange color and the flavor is about 100 times more than other eggs. Feeding our bodies food in it’s natural state is one of the healthiest things we can do, both physically and emotionally.  It takes much less work for our systems to process real, whole food as close to it’s natural state as possible. Psychologically, simple foods are a way of reminding ourselves of our humanity, our “real” self.  Much of our time is spent far from where our food actually comes from or is produced. We basically are in a long distance relationship with our food in todays world. Luckily now even people who live in the city can have backyard chickens and enjoy eggs straight out of the hen. The simplicity of enjoying real food combats so much of the artificial aspects of our world today. There is no packaging, no sales pitch, no flavors, colors, or additives, no advertisements, no technology, gimmicks or tricks. Receiving the gift of these beautiful brown eggs, still covered in bits of golden straw, immediately relaxed me and brought me back down to a simpler level.  I was reminded of how perfect food can be in it’s natural state. And when we nourish our bodies with those foods, we also become more whole and naturally complete.

What are some of your favorite ways to prepare eggs? 

Aside

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PJ Girl
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 10:54:43

    We’re lucky enough to have chickens – they are the most amazing little creatures and it is great to know where your food has come from. Loved eggs are tasty eggs!

    Reply

  2. patknapp
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 12:55:50

    I will take a cheese omelet any day or nite, How nice to see my sweet black friend online

    Reply

  3. big house, little prairie
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 19:56:56

    Yum! I had my eggs, from our hens, over-easy this morning but my favorite way to eat eggs is in a quiche. Any kind of quiche will do, crust or no crust, meat or no meat. I also think quiche is a great way to fit eggs in to lunch or dinner. Enjoy!

    Reply

  4. createwholehealth
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 13:33:13

    I have Hen Envy! I would LOVE to have backyard chickens someday. I would love them and pet them and feed them well!

    Reply

  5. harlanhowardsongs
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 08:18:11

    Gald you’re enjoying your farm fresh eggs. I enjoyed reading your blog CA. Great job. I made an egg pie recently that I’ve snacked on all week. I sautéed a combo of squash, zucchini, onion, and orange pepper along with some jalapeños for kick and placed that in the bottom of a dish. I poured my dozen beaten eggs on top and sprinkled a bit of freshly grated cheese on top. After baking it until the knife comes out clean I let it cool on the counter. I sliced it in portions so I could enjoy it at home for breakfast with fresh salsa that I made. Yummy. I took it to the office to snack on as well. Fresh eggs are the perfect food! By the way, you can have chickens and dogs living harmoniously together. That too takes pre-planning, execution, and a bit of trial by fire. Come out to the farm and bring your dog Exposing her to chickens will ease her curiosity of them and besides it could be five hens against one dog. My bet is on the chickens! Oops Bella and Tallulah say it’s time to feed the chickens…off I go to pet the girls and get their perfectly wrapped gift, a dozen farm fresh eggs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

