Sweet Moderation

I write often about my exclusion of  white sugar in my diet but I want to share that I also believe in BALANCE. I believe that it is good to treat ourselves in moderation, to celebrate life and participate in special events with people in our lives. Sometimes that involves sugar. Yesterday I went to a lovely picnic party to celebrate a friends birthday. Beautiful cupcakes and an amazing buttercream cake had been brought to celebrate the occasion. These were locally made from 2 of my favorite bakeries. I love supporting local businesses, especially in the food industry. More often than not they tend to use local fresh ingredients which makes the “cheating” better than buying processed junk food from a store. These were fresh baked goods made with real foods- butter, cream, sugar, and love…..All the “good stuff”….and I was with friends in a beautiful park. I was not going to not have some! We cut the cupcakes into quarters so we could all taste the different magnificent flavors: Key Lime, Coconut, Wedding Cake, Sweet Potato, etc.

Oh my gosh- They were to DIE for

So even though I try to avoid processed and rich foods, I also try to indulge in moderation. Otherwise I would become a hermit who never enjoyed eating with the company of good people. Part of feeding ourselves is with our relationships and having healthy balance in all areas of our lives. For me that means not being SO strict with my eating. Our culture is built around rituals involving food and it’s important to feel that connection. I believe in moderation. I believe in balance. I believe in celebrating. I believe in birthday cake.

What do you enjoy in moderation to celebrate  special occasions with friends and family?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. A Table in the Sun
    Aug 05, 2012 @ 19:12:30

    I SO agree. Although I have a much healthier diet than anyone I know, I do allow myself occasional treats……but NOT if it contains gluten. That would just make me ill. I do make gluten-free treats from time to time or indulge in chocolate. I think too many gluten free people still don’t eat a healthy diet because they are always trying to replace the evil gluten with a substitute, but they are still eating too much sugar and empty calories. Everything in moderation.

    Reply

    • createwholehealth
      Aug 06, 2012 @ 07:17:58

      I’m looking forward to learning more about gluten in nutrition school. The “fat free” “sugar free” snacks are the worst! Full of chemicals. Better off with a homemade cupcake where you know what’s in it and what’s not

      Reply

Leave a Reply

