My To Do List

To read the full story of this awesome advice check out this link 
 
I keep this on my bathroom mirror. I think it’s pretty perfect advice. The only thing I would add is that some of this stuff changes over time. The things we love and value, the job we choose, the way we enjoy spending our time changes as we grow and change. And that’s OK. Change is growth. Sometimes we freak out if we no longer want to spend time doing what we used to love to do. We wonder what’s wrong with us? Why are we bored or restless all the time?  Sometimes we stay with those things in order to avoid change.  I used to love working 12 hour days and weekends. It made me feel valuable. I used to love pushing myself and body to the point of exhaustion. It made me feel deserving. I used to love escaping by drinking alcohol and not sleeping or eating in a way that nourished me. Luckily things changed. Some of those things I changed and some changed naturally. Little by little I was pulled away from those things and other things I loved  had room to emerge (See About Me  for details :))I realized there was alot of things I loved underneath all that stuff that I thought I loved so much.  It’s fun to make lists of things I love.  Not only does it feel good but it helps me sort out see how my values may have shifted and allows me to prioritze my time in a way that serves me well and keeps me true to myself.
What are some things you love that you can include more in your life?  Can you let go of some things that you no longer love in order to make space for new things ?
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Allaman
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 16:44:44

    Lovely. You’ve inspired me to put this on my mirror, too 😉

    Reply

  2. silverbells2012
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 04:14:00

    I’ve seen this poster before but each time I am inspired by it. I started working part time six months ago in order to make space for more of the things I love, not least my daughter. That has meant learning to live with much less money – and still very much on the learning curve – but I am enjoying that challenge and seeing how that changes my perceptions (e.g. of friends/who is valuable in my life).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

