Tricky Greens

Do you remember shamrock shakes at McDonalds every St Patricks Day? The cool, refreshing, fake mint flavor and too-good-to be-true green color? They were SO refreshing in a sugar-laden, chemically processed kind of way.  As a 10 year old I sucked them down every March. I think it was mostly the idea of drinking something bright green that was so satisfying and fun. I haven’t been to McDonalds in decades and I don’t know if they still have them but these smoothies are naturally beautiful and amazingly healthy . It is a great way to sneak in greens for those who are not as excited about them as I am.

One half frozen banana

1 cup coconut or almond milk

Handful of frozen kale leaves without the stem (after rinsing kale, I put all the leaves into a ziplock and store in freezer, the frozen leaves are easy to break into pieces and they last a long time)

1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder

Blend together with ice and serve! The banana adds enough sweetness so there is no kale flavor (not that there’s anything wrong with that…)

There is something refreshing and renewing about eating greens. Not only do they deliver a great deal of folic acid but they are full of vitamins and life.  They bring a fresh”spring” element to our bodies. Even the smell of fresh greens reminds us of the forest and plant life and life itself. Greens are life promoting foods. Broccoli, spinach, kale are all great sources of greens to try to add into your diet in creative ways. I like boiling kale and dousing it with vinegar. I like kale chips too, but this is a sweet and tricky way to get your greens. Don’t be afraid to experiment with vegetables and prepare them in different ways that are pleasing to you and your family.

What is your favorite green vegetable?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 00:00:21

    I LOVE McD’s Shamrock Shakes. I haven’t had one in forever, but they were one of my favorite things when I was a kid.

    I make spinach smoothies almost daily. So good!

    Reply

  2. Cindy Heath
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 02:28:24

    I’ve been craving Kale lately and made chips this weekend. Will have to try this next!

    Reply

  3. Cindy Heath
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 02:29:16

    You might also try substituting avocado for frozen banana. I was skeptical at first but the results were amazingly creamy

    Reply

  4. A Table in the Sun
    Aug 02, 2012 @ 06:38:57

    I rotate the green element of my smoothie daily. I have used kale, swiss chard, basil, spinach, and beet greens. Yes, frozen bananas work well….but right now, my nectarine tree is pumping out fruit like crazy, so I’m slicing those little beauties and freezing them for winter smoothies. A little sunshine when the fog and cold comes our way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

