My Big Fat Greek Burrito

This happened accidentally when I realized my salsa had gone bad as I was halfway through preparing a lovely loaded vegetarian burrito. My heart sank when I had to throw out the half full jar but I was hungry so I quickly improvised with what I had and created a Greek style burrito

After simmering black beans for a couple of hours I spooned them onto a whole wheat tortilla. My friend in Arizona sent me these AMAZING whole wheat tortillas from a local bakery and if I lived there I would be there EVERY week buying these suckers up!

Image

They are to DIE FOR!! I could eat them plain with nothing on them. Or maybe just salsa on them, of course I could eat salsa on anything..Sigh….Why do I live so far from the southwest when I love their food so much?

I topped the beans with feta cheese, avocado, roasted corn, and because I was out of salsa, I used tomatoes that had been marinating in vinegar and greek yogurt. I then topped it all off with some plain greek yogurt and wrapped it up after dousing with hot sauce. Hot sauce- salsa’s shady bad-boy cousin. It’s ok in a pinch, always there on the shelf ready to step in when needed.

I have to be honest and say I desperately missed my salsa! Salsa is a food group to me. It makes clean eating so much easier because it’s so flavorful and versatile. I use it on veggies, turkey burgers, beans, eggs, chili, soups, etc. I love it chunky, thin, red, green, hot, mild, cold, warm..,,.you get the idea- I love salsa.

What is one condiment you cannot bear to live without?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sybaritica
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 21:27:12

    Nice save 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

