Summer Veggie Pasta

I’ve been feeling a smidge under the weather lately. I think it’s the heat. Or a mini summer cold. Tonight I am loading up on the greens and veggies- natures best immune system booster. I dug out some basic comfort foods: Whole Wheat pasta, Broccoli (Yes, broccoli is comforting to me, it’s crazy I know) Sun-dried tomatoes, onion, garlic (LOTS of garlic), baby spinach, and a beautiful yellow striped tomato I bought from an organic stand this afternoon. I also threw in some leftover grilled squash.

Then let it all simmer nicely together. A HUGE heap of spinach cooked down to a perfect serving size.

I topped with some feta cheese, backyard basil and red pepper flakes

This seems too decadent to be good for me but it is full of vitamins and anti-oxidants. It is good chilled the next day too.

What do you like to eat when you feel yourself needing comfort?  Is it nourishing and healthy? 

Leave a Reply

