Hi Honey! I love you

Image

Since giving up white sugar a year and a half ago I also backed off of brown sugar, agave, honey and of course artificial sweeteners (aka toxic chemicals that actually make you crave more sweetness) but I have found that life simply isn’t sweet enough without my beloved honey. I buy local honey and some say that it is good for fighting allergy symptoms. I don’t know if this is fact or fiction but it’s a sweet way to feel better.  Here are 2 opposing views on this: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/10/health/10really.html?_r=1   http://health.howstuffworks.com/diseases-conditions/allergies/allergy-treatments/local-honey-for-allergies2.htm

I bought this jar of dark wildflower honey at the farmers market from a beekeeper. She had the bees on display too which I thought was brilliant marketing! I use it in my coffee on weekend mornings and also bake with it. I put it in hot tea in cooler weather and usually drizzle it into soups, sauces and stews for a little hidden sweetness. Lately I have become pretty addicted to this simple snack.

Image

Peanut or Almond butter schmeared on a rice cake and topped with the golden goddess..,too good for wordsImage

Salty, sweet and crunchy. And for people who think rice cakes are “boring” I won’t try to convince you they are not. But they make an awesome base allowing you to really taste the flavor of the honey and PB. Image

So many good things to say about honey it would take pages. It is simply one of natures most perfect foods.

Leave a Reply

