Grilled Vegetable Quinoa

This is so easy to make! And since I am a fairly new grill owner I really enjoy using it often. After a trip to the farmers market on Sunday I grilled some vegetables for dinner and made extra for the week. I came up with this salad after a busy day and being hungry at night.  You can use anything you see that you like at the farmers market for this recipe. I used: yellow squash, zucchini, purple onion, yellow zucchini (YUM), corn, and red pepper. After the vegetables are cool enough to handle slice them into bite sized pieces and cut the corn off the cob. Cook the quinoa (keen-wa) according to directions. More on this amazing seed later…Toss the grilled veggies in with the quinoa and sprinkle on some garlic, sesame oil and ginger dressing. Sidenote: I like Annie’s Organic lite Gingerly. It’s a versatile light dressing, marinade, sauce, etc. I even mix it with my tuna salad.

I ate this warm with my dinner and then again the following day chilled with some chopped fresh tomatoes.

The next time you grill put on some extra veggies to store and use throughout the week. In hot months grilled vegetable salads can be a substantial meal. When you use quinoa you are adding a protein source. I often grill extra chicken breasts and salmon filets to use during the week. One of the secrets of eating clean is preparation. If there is something healthy already prepared waiting for you in your refrigerator you may be more inclined to choose that rather than a more convenient unhealthy option.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. patknapp
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 16:28:12

    QUINOA is a new one for me

    Reply

  2. patknapp
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 16:33:31

    I opt for merlot – who would give me a foot massage ?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

